Even Newt likes Obama

I have not been worried before that Barack Obama would get the Democratic nomination. I have believed it from the beginning. The first time my wife and I met him in 2000, she said to me, “He’s going to be President of the United States.” Wow. “You read my mind,” I told her. I have believed this ever since that day in 2000, with few moments of doubt.

But now I am worried.

Newt Gingrich is now speaking highly of Barack Obama.

Former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich said today that last year he would have picked Sen. Hillary Clinton to win the Democratic presidential nomination, but now he’s not so sure, calling Sen. Barack Obama a “phenomenon” and comparing him to John F. Kennedy.

“I am surprised how she underperformed and how well Senator Obama is doing,” Gingrich said on “Good Morning America.” “I think Senator Obama is slowly and steadily pulling away. The difference in fundraising capability is getting wider. They had 16,000 people in Boise turn out for Senator Obama Saturday. That’s an unheard-of kind of turnout.”

“I think he’s becoming an unusual phenomena in American politics, almost harkening back to John F. Kennedy,” Gingrich continued. “I think he’s going to be very formidable for Clinton to stop.”

Newt, say it ain’t so. Don’t jinx my guy. This is same Newt Gingrich that put out a contract on America for the 1994 Congressional elections. As a Democratic, I say this with a lump in my throat: Newt was good. That election changed history and brought the Republicans back as a player on the national scene.

But in the late 1990’s, he negated all that success when he tried to overthrow a sitting President through the impeachment process. The House voted to impeach the President, but what Newt should have known, the Senate would not, could not convict. Unless there is an overriding reason, a political party will not turn on its own.

The happy ending is that the House Republicans suffered a resounding defeat in the 1998 mid-term elections, which was interrupted as a sign the American people vehemently opposed the impeachment of the President in the House and and the party bosses blamed Newt (whom they were never comfortable with anyway). Gingrichhas been trying to rehabiltate himself since that time by trying to appear to be a “statesman.”

And this same person is now saying nice things about Obama, comparing him to JFK. And I can’t disagree with what he’s saying. He is obviously trying to appeal to a Democratic audience. But why. Should I be worried or accept the compliment? Reading on Walden Bookstore.

Leave a Reply

