Loving Her Was Easier

Back when I was a punk teenager, I thought poetry “really sucked,” as we would say. Yet, my love of music and lyrics even then, I can tell you there was the one common thread. Music helped me keep my sanity and grow into the person I wanted to be.

So when someone says that they don’t enjoy poetry, I say, “What do you think music is?”

Here is one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite songwriters, Kris Kristofferson, (accompanied by Willie Nelson). And frankly, while I am a country music fan, I must say it is not my favorite style of music. But Kris Kristofferson, the singer/songwriter, transcends the genre of country music. He is simply a great poet. I’d live to hear what you think about this great poet. John Presta.

Verse 1:
I’ve seen the morning burning golden on the mountains in the skies
Aching with the feeling of the freedom of an eagle when she flies
Turning on the world the way she smiles upon my soul as I lay dying
Healing with the colors of the sunshine and the shadow of her eyes

Verse 2:
Waking in the morning to the feeling of her fingers on my skin
Wiping out the traces of the people and the places that I’ve been
Teaching me that yesterday was something that i never thought of trying
Talking about tomorrow and the money love and time we’d have to spend
Loving her was easier than anything I’ll ever do again

Verse 3:
Coming close together with a feeling that I’ve never know before,in my time
She ain’t afraid to be a woman or afraid to be a friend
I don’t know the answer to the easy way she opens every door in my mind
Dreaming was as easy as believing it was never gonna end
Loving her was easier than anything I’ll ever do again

Leave a Reply

