Michelle’s Summer Reading List – Volume One

It’s that time of year again, the middle of August. For many, it’s time for those last-minute vacations before school begins. For me, it’s time to read more so I can get through my summer reading list. Here’s a sample of what I’ve read this summer.

Homeland and Other Stories by Barbara Kingsolver. If you like Kingsolver and/or short stories, this is a good choice. Strong Women, Strong Bones by Miriam E. Nelson, PhD. This book contains helpful information to prevent and treat osteoporosis. The Innocent Man by John Grisham. What can I say, I like Grisham.

The Street of a Thousand Blossoms by Gail Tsukiyama, author of The Samurai’s Garden. This wonderful novel, scheduled for publication September 2007, is about two brothers, the women they love, family ties and traditions. Freshwater Road by Denise Nicholas. My book discussion group’s selection for August is a novel about the civil rights movement in Mississippi during Freedom Summer 1964.

I just started reading A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini, the author of The Kite Runner. So far, so good. I’ve been told it is actually better than The Kite Runner. What’s on your summer reading list? Tell me about it. Michelle.

Leave a Reply

